The Asian Conondrum

On Halloween, I always revert to Google or YouTube for costume makeup tutorials. I’ve been quiet successful so far. Chris and I during Halloween 2014:

chris steffi

I like his more than mine.

But for actual, everyday, non-Halloween use, YouTube is no help. Every single tutorial that I see are based on Caucasian or African American eyes — eyes that have a lot of fabulous real estate when it comes to applying color. I don’t have a monolid but I still do not have a fantabulous  area to show off a lovely blend of colors pre-crease. I tried and tried and ended up looking like I used one color and not four. I also noticed that a lot of eye makeup styles are geared towards making a woman’s eyes look longer, more slanted. I don’t need that, I already have that! It made me fear eyeliner and for years, I believed that I can never wear eyeliner below my eyes because I’d end up making it look “too small.”

So, I decided to throw everything I “learned” away and start over. 

Bun Bun Makeup Tips has an awesome post about the variety of Asian eyes. I was so relieved to finally find one that acknowledged the different shapes and types and why other racial makeup tutorials would not work.

I have wide, almond eyes with a double eyelid and a parallel crease. The right eye is more hooded than the left so when my eyes are open, you barely see the lower lid. The left has a visible two millimeters or so. Not only do I have the type of eyes that are barely seen in tutorial blogs or vlogs,  they’re asymmetrical as well.

There are so many looks that I’d like to try. But last night, I decided to try one that went against all my previous rules.

The New Contour

For so long, I thought crease and contour were the same; the area where the eye meets the eye socket. A lot of tutorials say that one must apply some shade to the crease… A crease that becomes instantly invisible as soon as I open my eyes.This time, I didn’t think about which is which. Instead of thinking of areas, I thought in layers: blending one color over another like a monochrome nude ombré from my lash towards my brow.

Defeating the Eyeliner Scare

I blended a thin line of dark eyeliner on my top lash line as usual. But this time, I went ahead and did the same thing below my eyes, blending it lightly to create a subtle smoky effect.

… And Eye Loved it!

I was so happy that I did a small dance and scared the chihuahuas. It’s my first effort for this look so I decided to celebrate and take a pic. The makeup is not heavy so the shades are not that visible and I only did a light contouring on my face but I’m still proud of myself so who gives a shit at this point?

steffi2

Photo is unfiltered but I used a front facing cellphone camera. And yes, that is white hair. A product of genetics and my advanced age of 32. 😉

Next chore: hair coloring. *sigh*

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

