Naked!

No, this is not about nudity.

Any female who is at least slightly familiar with makeup knows about Urban Decay’s Naked eye shadow palettes. I’m not exactly an expert and very rarely wear makeup so I’m not as finicky as most. I have one large multi-color palette and one smaller 4-block with gold and brown shades that I use when I travel. I quickly realized that due to my skin tone, neutrals, gold and brown tones look so much better on me. I ended up using the smaller palette more frequently and barely touched the large one. I believe the last time I used it was Halloween. 😀

604214916630_naked

While I was in Vegas, my friends and I went to Sephora to test drive some brands. I spent at least 15 minutes testing out the original Naked palette (pictured above). I loved the colors and the creamy texture. It’s definitely something that I can picture using often since they don’t have that garish extra-in-a-Kesha-music-video look. However, I found the price quite prohibitive. I couldn’t imagine spending $54 on one strip of eye shadow. So I left the lovely palette behind and forgot all about it for a while.

Speaking of testing makeup, my high school best friend Tintin swears by it. In our early twenties, she used to go to The Body Shop all the time and use all the samples she liked from body butter to every single eye shadow color. I used to feel embarrassed but Tin sensibly explained that one is supposed to and is expected to do it since the salespersons want you to buy a product that you’d like. Aside from Tin, my 11 year old sister Sofi loves it, too! Even as a small child, she loved spending time in the makeup department of our local department store as the salesgirls were only too happy to help out the cute little girl.

604214919006_naked3.jpg

Anyway, back to Urban Decay. Out of all the Naked palettes, I liked Naked3 the most since pinkish hues suit me the best. While browsing Amazon for stuff that would make me look decent for the upcoming girl’s weekend at Wildwood, I found this:

Naked 3 Dupe 3 Edit

91AaI3I6oWL._SL1500_

W7’s In The Nude looks like Naked3’s identical twin! And for $9.07, it’s also much cheaper. I instantly ordered it and, since I’m a Prime member, I should have it by Wednesday. I can’t wait!

I’m not expecting it to have the same high-end quality as Urban Decay’s iconic product but I’m not above using copycats as long as it has good pigmentation and isn’t cakey. W7 also has other palettes that are based on the Naked product lines.

  • Naked = In The Buff Lightly Toasted
  • Naked2 = In The Buff
  • Naked3 = In The Nude
  • Naked Smoky = In The Night

For a more thorough comparison, see Beauty in the Bunny’s review.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Naked!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

