Top 10 books that stayed with me in some way

I’m currently re-reading Percy Jackson and the Olympians and Heroes of Olympus — a total of nine books. The most recent book came out and, due to my literary amnesia, I usually read the previous books all over again to prep myself before getting to the newest one. What I hate most while reading a series is forgetting a small but significant detail. “Who’s Tyson again?” “How did Bianca die?” “… etc.

There’s a meme going around in Facebook asking for a list of the top 10 books that stayed with you in some way. My friends Chie and Alet tagged me so the ardent reader in me felt obliged to share some of my greatest literary loves in the world to my 2,800 Facebook friends. Now I’ve read thousands and thousands of books since I was a kid so I may have forgotten some. And I do have a lot of favorites. But this list below is a good representation of the books that I will never forget spanning several genres. 

In no particular order:
1. Foundation (series) – Isaac Asimov [My one and greatest sci-fi love from the king of the genre. I thank my Dad for this.]
2. Discworld series – Terry Pratchett [I can re-read these books over and over and over again. So good!]
3. Wicked – Gregory Maguire [This stole my cold, little heart. I got so mad when someone stole it in Riyadh.]
4. The Alchemist – Paulo Coelho [“I am an adventurer, looking for treasure.” — personal mantra.]
5. Broken Empire Trilogy – Mark Lawrence [Not the gentlest of books but oh so worth it,]
6. Percy Jackson & the Olympians – Rick Riordan [Probably one of the most inventive modern rendition of Greek mythology.]
7. Relic and all Pendergast books – Lincoln Child and Douglas Preston [All hail the glorious weirdness that is Pendergast.]
8. The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy – Douglas Adams [DON’T PANIC.]
9. Neverwhere – Neil Gaiman [Only Gaiman can make a dirty subway system seem glamorous and mystical.]
10. Codex Alera – Jim Butcher [Butcher is probably the only fantasy writer that could leave me wanting more even after six long books.]

Books that almost made the list. Honorable mentions:
1. Harry Potter series – J.K. Rowling [Mainstream but, what can I say, they’re just really awesome.]
2. Brave New World – Aldous Huxley [This book as the ability to make you think for the rest of your life.]
3. Memoirs of a Geisha – Arthur Golden [By the end of the book, you’ll feel like moving to early 20th century Kyoto and train to be a geisha.]
4. Perfume – Patrick Suskind [Utterly horrifying and fascinating. Very original.]
5. The Vampire Chronicles – Anne Rice [I was obsessed with this when I was in college.]
6. Ender’s Game – Orson Scott Card [I only read it before I saw the movie so I can compare both mediums. But I ended up really liking it.]
7. The Eyre Affair – Jasper Fforde [Another very original book. Literary Detective must be the best job title of all time.]
8. Wolf Hall – Hilary Mantel [For get all the Henry VIII books floating around in the lit ether. Buy this and you’ll realize what makes it special.]

When I come home tonight, I would love to curl up on the daybed (possibly with one of the chihuahuas on my tummy) covered in an ultra-soft throw and a cup of lavender earl grey tea on the coffee table. But alas! This girl has a lot (and I mean TONS) of schoolwork to do before she leaves for a short vacay to the Poconos tomorrow. So my recreational reading would have to wait until I’m chillaxin’ on a rocking chair with a glorious view of the mountainside and the Delaware River before me.

Until the next note. 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

