Grrrr… BMI

For the past 2 months, I’ve been eating like a monster. Or a professional football player, whichever is worse. I’m still not fat, I can still wear a swimsuit without being an eyesore to the public. But I’m not very  happy with my BMI.

I’ve always had an issue with this BMI thing. I’ve always been heavy, probably because I’m big-boned (this is not an excuse, I really am!), compact, and tightly put together. Even when I was in college, I was the heaviest girl in PE class — heaviest, not fattest — and I had to use bigger weights compared to girls twice my girth. I’m not very tall either, just 5’4″ and I’m a healthy size 6. If you look at me, I look like I’m at least 10 pounds lighter. But because of this trait that I inherited from both sides of the family, my BMI will forever be screwed up. This is why I’m not aiming for a 19 and I decided that I’m going down to a 22 instead. I don’t have a scale because I refuse to bow down to the tyranny of constant weight obsession that strikes many females in this unfortunate thin-centric society! Which is why I’ll concentrate on size now. My target is to go down to at least a size 4, the BMI and weight should follow.

No, I’m not going to start eating rabbit food. But I will try not to snack on unhealthy things and stay away from candy bars and cakes. The occasional indulgence is okay but only in moderation! No more second servings. Instead of big, complete meals, I’ll snack the whole day, eating small servings 4-5 times. I did this before and it really worked. And, most importantly, I need to increase my physical activity. I promise to walk my fat dog everyday so we can both lose weight.

There.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

