What We Need

I am bothered.

And it’s no longer a silly thing like the time I was incredibly annoyed with this stranger who passed by everyday to take some of the gourmet coffee I brew for myself and a few friends. I wouldn’t mind if it was occasional or if she asked politely every time. But she did it everyday and there were days when she would pop in and pour herself a cup while I had my back turned. WTF?

Back to the serious topic. I’m trying to help Jammy get a job here. She is very smart, pleasant and, most of all, willing to learn. We both live in Saudi Arabia and she has to go through a messy process of bureaucratic red tape. Believe me, there is nothing worse than the bureaucracy here. There are too many challenges in between and I cannot be sure if the end result will be what we both hope to achieve. My boss is very supportive but even he can only do so much if higher administration and the government says no. I was worrying about it this afternoon and I tried to think of everything I can do to make it possible.

And then I saw the problem. I was too focused on what “I” can do. I have forgotten that we cannot do everything by ourselves. We need the help of others and, most importantly, God. Only through Him can all things be possible. I prayed so hard during the ride home and I am still praying even as I write this post. I have to stop worrying and trust Him. Also, because God helps those who help themselves, I will continue to do everything in my power and hope and pray for the best.

After all, it is often said that God does not give us what we want but He definitely gives us what we need. Whatever the result may be, I am sure that there is a reason for it all.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

