Mixtape

“The making of a great compilation tape, like breaking up is hard to do. It takes ages longer than it might seem. You gotta kick it off with a killer to grab attention. Then you gotta take it up a notch. But you don’t want to blow your wad. So then you gotta cool it off a notch. There are a lot of rules.”

~ Rob, High Fidelity (Nick Hornby)

Crap… I’m not good with this. I don’t know what the rules are and I’ve never made a mixtape for anyone in my life. I’ve had mixtapes (or copies of mixtapes) made for me by different people. But I never found the energy to make of my own. I’d start somewhere then stop after realizing that there are too many songs that deserve to be on a mixtape yet there isn’t enough space for them. I thought it was unfair. So I would stop.

And I never had a target. Someone who is the center–who the songs should revolve around.

But now… *twiddles fingers* … I guess I have one now.

Chris posted a song by Sara Evans, Perfect. It’s the same song he sent me almost three years ago. I thought of sending him something in return but I ended up with a list instead. So, for better or for worse and hoping that Rob Fleming is rooting for me, here is the compilation.

1. Stuck Like Glue (Sugarland)

2. Love is Only a Feeling (The Darkness)

3. You Were Meant For Me (Jewel)

4. Art in Me (Jars of Clay)*

5. Hot (Avril Lavigne)

6. Chariot [Stripped](Gavin DeGraw)

7. Deep Inside of You (Third Eye Blind)

8. Kiss Me (Sixpence None The Richer)

9. Sweetest Thing (U2)

… And, last but not the least, from C’s favorite band:

10. Iris (Goo Goo Dolls)

<><><>

*Not the official video, but it has the best sound quality I could find.

2 thoughts on “Mixtape

  1. Check Out The Mixtape Mafia, The One And Only Spot To Download the Newest Hip-hop, Rnb, and Dubstep Mixtapes and Singles, Subtmit Your Mixtape, Single, Or Video and We will Host it online and send you link to share…

  2. Hey Your Mixtape some fiyah… submit it to themixtapemafia.net… ill host it for free and give you a backlink to post to your social media (Facebook, myspace, google+, whatever)

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

