I Don’t Like Carpets

*points at post title*

Now that it’s clear, I always look at alternative flooring materials. In my current rooms in both apartments, I do have carpets. But then I didn’t buy them and I don’t have pets. If you have dogs, especially puppies, occasional “accidents” are bound to happen and one cannot always see where they marked their territory. By the time you find out, the, er, fluid would have seeped into the carpet to the wooden subfloor and it will be hell to clean up. Plus, one cannot always see the dirt and crumbs especially if your carpet is patterned.

Hardwood is also a no-no. Can you imagine spending a lot of money on a gorgeous wood floor and have your pet pee on it and stain and damage the wood the very next day? Life is never fair.

I believe in dealing with things in the most convenient way possible. For flooring, I just have a few requirements:

  • Waterproof
  • Easy to clean
  • Looks good
  • Relatively scratch-free

My first choice would be porcelain or ceramic tiles. One just sweeps or mops up any mess or dust and they’re practically indestructible unless you weigh over 350 pounds and like to jump around the house, breaking your precious tiles in the process. But tiles are a tad expensive and difficult to install by yourself unless you work in construction and have all the necessary tools. Professional installment is a must and this doubles the cost of the materials.

My second choice would be laminate. It looks like wood, it’s cheap, choices are varied, scratches are not clearly visible, it’s easy to clean, and you can install it yourself! While I don’t like it as much as I like tiles, it can be a viable if temporary option that would last for a few years.

One thought on “I Don’t Like Carpets

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

