1. Pay Attention to the Light

Good lighting is the single most important thing for good photography. Better lighting means faster shutter speed, which means clearer shots and less blurring. The best light by far is indirect daylight. A shady spot on a sunny day is the holy grail of natural lighting conditions. Indoors, your best bet is during the day near a window.

There’s more of that from The Serious Eats Guide to Food Photography by J. Kenji Lopez-Alt — my favorite food lab columnist, food writer, and will probably be my favorite chef if I ever get lucky enough to eat something he makes. In short, I want to be the girl-version of Kenji in my next life.

But, seriously, food photography is one of my major interests. There’s just something about taking a shot of something so scrumptious, shiny, ethereal and, most important of all, edible. I made The Virgin Stove partly because I want to learn how to photograph food properly. And if I see any guide or article about food photography, I eat it all up like a hungry sixth grader.

Enjoy reading!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

