Broken. In a good way.

This was seen on PostSecret this week.

Yes, guys. It’s not just us women who have to watch the scale. Yikes.

~*~

I am annoyed with myself because I am failing to do my Project 365 – where I take one picture a day everyday for a year. There are just days when I can take 200 photos and whole weeks when I won’t pick the camera up at all.

On the other hand, I’ve broken my artist’s block. For the past 5-6 years I would buy brushes, paints, sketchpads, pencils, and let my baby sister play with them because I won’t do anything. I can’t do anything. I used to draw endlessly everyday from childhood. But my inspiration dried up along the way and I was afraid I wouldn’t be able to draw anything again. I tried to give myself short projects that I hoped would break the block but as soon as those projects were done, I’d stop again.

But a few nights ago, due to my frustration with my inability to describe what I wanted through words, I sketched something on the back of a receipt. And I thought: “This is such an ugly drawing.” So I tore the plastic wrapper off a nice sketchpad, took one of my  drawing pencils and worked a little perspective into my drawing showing the same scene. The next day, I murdered my cheap IKEA clock and took the movement out. Then drew the White Rabbit with a quote on a piece of black board using correction fluid (yes, I know, hahaha). I worked the movement in through the side and voila! – my Alice in Wonderland vintage looking clock was born.

It’s probably* like riding a bike again after 10 years of not touching one. I was a little rusty but “it” was still there and I knew I just needed a little practice to at least get to same level where I used to be when I was 19.

That’s one down. And a million more things to conquer. 🙂

~*~

*probably = because I don’t know how to ride a bike

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

