Rock ‘n Roll Bride

When I was clueless about what I wanted and was waiting for inspiration to come, I tried to look for ideas online. Most of the suggestions and themes were cute but they were all geared towards a traditional, formal wedding. Everything looked so BEIGE and boring. We’re going to have two weddings… the first will be the simple civil ceremony in Chris’ hometown and the second, after 2-3 years, will be the Catholic wedding in a church in my hometown so my whole family can see their eldest daughter/niece/granddaughter get married. (Yep! I’m the eldest in my generation in both sides of the family. Imagine the pressure to excel. Haha!)

Although we’re determined to have a very down-to-earth first wedding to save expenses, I didn’t think that cheapie-cheapie equaled boring. A small, casual wedding can be fun and cool. More importantly, a wedding should reflect the personalities and tastes of the persons getting married instead of being just a generic one.

Imagine my delight when I stumbled on Rock ‘n Roll bride. ๐Ÿ˜€ At first glance, it seems to be all about wildly dyed hair, tattoos and grunge. But, upon browsing, the blog is all about making your wedding your own. I looked at submitted pictures of urban weddings, vintage weddings, farm weddings, music-inspired weddings, theatre weddings, Marie Antoinette weddings, etc. The list is endless! The ideas were so original and the couples obviously put their individual stamp all over the celebrations. The photos are so inspirational! It’s a great collection of photos with real people and not stiff models from a magazine.

That’s when I decided that Chris and I are going to have a rock and roll wedding. It’s not about electric guitars or loud music but it should be a wedding thatย  celebrates who we are. We’re both easygoing, relaxed persons with unique interests so why do we have to do what everyone else does? We decided on a very casual, boho, vintage, DIY wedding. No stiff, icky wedding for us.

Even if you’re not a bride or groom-to-be, I’d recommend reading through the RnRB blog.

~*~*~

Speaking of Chris, he is so funny about the whole planning the wedding stuff. He had a major meltdown at first since he did this twice before (one ex-fiancee and one ex-wife) and they were both terrible Bridezillas and he was afraid that I’d turn into one. I told him that I wasn’t exactly the prima donna type who would cut him off from all the planning. (“Dear, all you have to do is show up.”) It’s his wedding, too, after all.

He’s so surprised to find that he’s enjoying it. ๐Ÿ™‚

He promised to mess up my face with wedding cake icing after the reception. But he forgot who’s making the wedding cake: me. And if there’s something that I know how to make, it’s practically mess-free yummy icing that’s superglued to the cake. He’d have to mash the whole cake all over me to get the desired effect. And even after that, it would be easy to clean off. Hehehe. ๐Ÿ˜‰

11 thoughts on “Rock ‘n Roll Bride

  1. Hey Steffi! Nice site.

    I’ve read about weddings that were Wheel of Time/World of Warcraft/Star Wars/Lord of the Rings/video game themed.

    Die-hard WoWers who meet online sometimes even marry their on screen personas at the same time as their real-world weddings.

    The LotR one (it’s local!) was actually held at the UP sunken garden, with the ring bearer dressed up as Frodo to match the bride and groom’s Arwen and Aragon.

    The Star Wars wedding had the bride and groom do a simulated light saber battle instead of the traditional walk up the aisle for the bride.

    And the video game themed weddings had some of the cutest mario brothers wedding cakes I’d ever seen (I’d say the more traditional titos/titas/lolos/lolas here would probably say that they looked more like birthday cakes than wedding cakes, but what the heck!).

    http://weddingdressesandcakes.blogspot.com/2010/01/super-mario-wedding-cakes.html
    http://www.geekologie.com/2008/06/zomg_epic_mario-themed_wedding_cake.php

    mario cake cloud

    I sooooo love the idea of a rock-and-roll wedding. But since I’m probably only going to be able to do it once and I have a very traditional family (and all of the Chinese guys here seem to have sticks-in-the-mud for families as well), if ever that day arrives (still SSB/NBSB unfortunately) I’m probably going to be stuck with a boring traditional white wedding.

    • I love themed weddings! ๐Ÿ˜€ I love looking at them and looking at pictures of people I don’t even know, hahaha. But I also know that I’d be most comfortable in a bohemian-vintage setting for my civil wedding. I’ll be more formal with the second. And since I’m going to have two weddings, I’ll be able to do a lot of things and combine ideas, making each wedding fun.

      Aww… Just remember that even if you have a traditional family, it’s still your wedding. ๐Ÿ™‚ While you probably won’t be able to get away with something too radical, I bet you will be able to insert your personal touches and interests in the little details here and there. Don’t worry about being NSBS. It took me a while as well. It’ll just surprise you when it finally happens. ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ Have fun and enjoy your singlehood!

      • Gotta love this quote:

        “Someday your prince charming will come. Mine just took a wrong turn, got lost, and is too stubborn to ask for directions.”

        All the guys I meet are frogs. Who do not turn into princes upon further acquaintance. Trolls maybe. Village idiots, most of the time. Princes? None so far. Haha.

        And my family is not only traditional, it’s traditional *Chinese*. Meaning they’re expecting me to hook up with a Chinese guy. And all the specimens of the former that I’ve encountered so far have been losers. >_<

        Sometimes I really get the feeling that I either should have been a)born male, or b)not born into a Chinese family.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

