Roughing It

I am not a camping type of person. Give me a clean hotel with indoor plumbing and a coordinated itinerary any day. But my father said that camping by the seaside would be “fun” and that he, my mom and my brother did it years ago when I was in college. Okaaay, so I agreed. My friends Che, Jovett and Jou agreed to come with us to keep me company and, for Jov and Che, meet their Kuyas in Khobar and Dammam.

We went with two other cars, got lost a lot, and took gazillions of photos. Jou taught me how to better maximize the use of my Canon EOS 1000D and take beautifully lighted pictures, which made me click away happily whether my subjects were looking or not. There were some bad parts like me and Jov getting sick, the humid heat everywhere, the stampede in front of the Jollibee store, the A/C of the car breaking down last minute and us having to suffer through five hours without air conditioning in the Saudi Arabian summer. I was bitchy almost all-day Saturday from the stuff I mentioned above (yikes) but my friends and Dad were such a good sport. 🙂

There were a lot of good things too: bonding time with family and friends, eating under trees and napping right after, maximizing the use of a Starbucks coffee shop, the “dig your own hole” jokes, having coffee on the sand and getting free exfoliation for our feet, goofing off everywhere, and swimming for a bit in the sea.

All in all, it was not the smoothest 2-day vacation but I believe we all had fun. I don’t think I’ll ever go camping again unless it’s for a really REALLY good reason but I would love to go out-of-town with the same group of lovely people. (See Khobar album on Flickr.)

And because I felt like $h1t by the time I arrived, I slept until 7 pm the next day and made comfort food: whole wheat apple muffins and pumpkin orange soup. I feel much better, the fever is gone and I’m not sneezing as often as the day before.

Now if I could only finish cleaning my room before starting work again tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

