From the Quest for Blueberries to Glutathione and Tanning Beds

I was telling Chris about my unsuccessful quest to find decent and inexpensive blueberries in Riyadh. Eventually, I settled on just buying cranberries, still imported from Canada, but they were a lot less pricey than the blueberries from the US which cost an arm and a leg in Safeway.

vs.

Me: At least cranberries are higher in… I don’t remember the word.
C: Anti-oxidants.

Which led to a discussion about glutathione and metathione, anti-oxidants that also lighten skin, which explains their popularity in some Asian countries. I had to explain to him why a lot of brown-skinned people try hard to to be lighter and use all kinds of products – papaya soap, whitening lotions, bleaching creams, metathione tablets, glutathione injections – because lighter skin is a standard for beauty for some (not all!) Asians, especially in the Philippines where most of us are naturally tanned. While I no longer think that way as I’ve grown to like myself as I am, I used to use some of the milder whitening stuff in my early twenties. The most extreme was buying glutathione tablets from GNC. When I stopped trying at 24, my natural skin color reemerged in a year.

Chris laughed and thought it was all crazy. He didn’t think “pale” as a skin color was a compliment and he counts himself lucky if he gets a slight tan over the summer. He also thinks that my natural tan is an asset because I would never have to work hard for it. He admitted that in his 20’s (who do we do stupid stuff in our 20s?) he tried using tanning beds with a friend and went through 10 sessions. He eventually decided that the effort wasn’t worth it but a lot of people from his place still do that regularly and even get fake spray-tans, which I found hilarious.

We laugh but it’s a fact that humans tend to want what they don’t have. It seems hard to be content… light-skinned people try to get a tan, and brown-skinned people try to be whiter. But it’s just so much easier and less expensive to like what you already have.

One thought on “From the Quest for Blueberries to Glutathione and Tanning Beds

  1. Pingback: Blueberry… Er, Cranberry Boy Bait « Karma & Apollo

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

