Rihanna… who’s that?

For more than two months, all I’ve been listening to are tracks of Broadway and West End musicals. The download spree was fueled by fond memories of me and my friends singing Miss Saigon at the top of our lungs when we still lived together in Loyola Heights in front of Ateneo. Kim, Chris and the Engineer were as much a part of that stage of our lives as our favorite college hangouts and films.

The cast of Wicked

My addiction was (and still is) so bad that I barely listened to contemporary music and played The Phantom of the Opera, Les Miserables, Miss Saigon, and (my current favorite) Wicked over and over that even my five-year-old little sister, Sofia, learned how to sing the Phantom’s Music of the Night. I have two versions of the Phantom soundtrack, the 2004 movie and the Original London Cast, and while Michael Crawford is iconic, I think Gerard Butler is unique and progressive. Forget about Lady Gaga or that twit Ke$ha. I idolized Idina Menzel and I do not really believe that she and Wicked co-star Kristin Chenoweth have a long-running bitter rivalry. Cheno practically choked out the lyrics during her last show with Idina because she was crying at the same time. And Lea Salonga… *insert sigh* … no one can hit those high notes as clearly as La Salonga as she sings This Money’s Yours and I Still Believe. While I’m cursing the existence of Ellen and mentally shaking Kim for killing herself, I feel like I’m 18 all over again.

I have By Jeeves and I’m planning to get a copy of Rent and Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat (Alet’s fave for a while). Any recommendations? 😀

4 thoughts on “Rihanna… who’s that?

  1. Recommendations by category–Power Songs: Chess (Judy Kuhn in original soundtrack…goddess); Must-See for Miss Saigon Fans: Flower Drum Song; Best Movie Adaptation: My Fair Lady (1964 Hepburn version–so what is she’s not the one singing as the costumes are gorgeous); For Twisted Tale Fans of Wicked: Into the Woods.

  2. Hey Steffi! Late recommendation, but… Yeston and Kopik’s Phantom. Which apparently never premiered in Broadway because their original backers, well, backed off when they heard that ALW’s West End extravaganza was coming to Broadway.

    I have the original studio cast recording and I can up it for you in case you can’t find it for download anywhere. But here’s something that might interest you–a Japanese production of the Yeston/Kopik Phantom by the all-female Takarazuka Kagekidan (very popular with Japanese women, probably because the ladies who play the male leads pretty much embody the “perfect” man for them!):

    http://waochan.wordpress.com/2009/11/18/the-phantom-of-the-opera-2004-takarazuka/

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

