The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo aka A Homage to Lisbeth Salander’s Awesomeness

I got The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo almost two months ago from WHSmith. (Love buy 1 take 1 sales!) I took it home to Riyadh and it sat largely ignored on my shelf because I was too wrapped up with Wolf Hall, family, shopping, work, the boyfriend, and everything else in real life. It took me a month to finish Wolf Hall –  a disgrace for someone who used to be able to conquer a book in less than a day. I figured that before I fully return to reading WoT again, I better give Stieg Larsson’s book a chance. The book was purchased because I was intrigued and thought I should have something contemporary for a change even if I knew nothing about Larsson or his writing.

I’m barely a quarter into the book right now as I only started yesterday, and Oh. My. God. I’m in love with Lisbeth Salander! Of the two protagonists, Mikael Blomkvist gets top billing but it’s the flat-chested, computer hacking, socially incompetent, 24-year-old genius-who-doesn’t-seem-like-one who’s the real star of the book. She’s someone every girl avoids to become and yet secretly envies. Why am I not weirder!? 🙂

I can’t wait to finish this book and get my teeth into Larsson’s book II and III of his Millennium series. For the non-readers, I heard Swedish director Niels Arden Oplev made a film version with Lisbeth’s character played by Noomi Rapace. Rapace has excellent reviews so far. I guess I know what my next movie to watch is and you can expect a long review of all three books once I’m done.

2 thoughts on “The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo aka A Homage to Lisbeth Salander’s Awesomeness

  1. Tried finding a copy today but it’s out of stock! The next two books lang available :/ Been wanting to buy that for the longest time but I already have a huge pile of to-reads. 😀

    • Sayang. 😦 Grab it if you see a copy. It’s worth it!. I know what you mean about to-reads. I don’t have as much time lately so I have around 8 waiting on the shelf. And still, I bought two more WoT books, since I figured I’ll finish the series anyway (in about 20 years hehe).

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

