Unattainable Beauty

I’m so out of touch with showbiz things. Maybe because I barely watch TV and don’t watch movies as often as most. It’s usually my Insider-watching father who fills me in on the latest gossip but he sometimes forgets which is why I only found out about Heidi Montag’s horrible plastic surgery marathon yesterday. I watched a couple of episodes of The Hills and I remember her as being pretty and very slim. I even thought that she was prettier than Lauren Conrad and I can’t imagine how a girl like that can have so much insecurity in herself.

But, apparently, she does. Or did. A few months ago, Montag had 10 procedures done in one day. And she’s proud of it! She had her breast implants increased to DDDs, a brow lift, a nose job revision, lipo on her stomach and thighs and a butt augmentation, among other things.

I was made fun of when I was younger, and so I had insecurities, especially after I moved to L.A. People said I had a “Jay Leno chin”; they’d circle it on blogs and say nasty things. It bothered me. And when I watched myself on The Hills, my ears would be sticking out likle Dumbo! I just wanted to feel more confident and look in the mirror and be like, “Whoa! That’s me!” I was an ugly duckling before.

I think she’s more beautiful and less “plastic” in her photo on the left, before the surgeries. How disappointing. This girl is three years younger than me and she already found the need to radically modify herself. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not against plastic surgery. I’ve had a procedure done myself (guess what!) but that was because we had a car accident and I smashed that part of my body. The point is, it’s not wrong if you want to correct a thing or two that’s been bugging you your whole life, especially when you know that that part truly makes you unattractive.  But for a young, pretty girl who has no visible flaws… geez. I didn’t even recognize her new self. I wonder how her family feels whenever they talk to her and see a different daughter, a different wife.

The media has not been completely innocent with influencing women to attain this unreachable level of perfection. On magazines everywhere, you see extra thin girls with mile-long perfect legs wearing designer coats and shoes and having a gorgeous man as her accessory. It sends the message that thin is beautiful and glamorous. And if you’re this perfect, you can get the clothes, shoes, and the man. Photoshop does magic and, unfortunately, promotes the wrong message when used excessively.

See Newsweek’s gallery on Unattainable Beauty: The Decade’s Most Egregious Retouching Scandals.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

