Six Movies

Last weekend started with good intentions. I wanted to do some ironing so I can finally get rid of my chore pile and have new stuff to wear. But I also knew that I wouldn’t get anything done if I was just going to iron. After all, females are genetically designed to foist multi-tasking upon themselves.

|| Thursday ||

Avatar (2009)

Directed by: James Cameron
Starring: Sam Worthington, Zoe Saldana, Stephen Lang, Michelle Rodriguez, Giovanni Ribisi, Joel David Moore, C. C. H. Pounder, Wes Studi, Laz Alonso, and Sigourney Weaver

Category: Science-fiction epic

When Dad called me about it, I somehow mixed up Avatar with Surrogate and spent five minutes arguing with my father that I didn’t want to watch another Bruce Willis movie. I watched it while fighting sleep and afterwards, all I could say was “OMG there is alien sex”. o_o

The story isn’t exactly original. It must’ve been influenced by and adapted from hundreds of comic books, sci-fi and fantasy stories and movies. But the result of it all that is Avatar is brilliant! Their choice of a lead actor who isn’t famous (yet) made his character more sympathetic. The animators deserve an award for creating the Navi and their the landscapes of their world, Pandora.

It’s an amazing film, it caused major organs to palpitate and I’d definitely recommend it to anyone who asks. But I don’t think I’ll watch it again. Avatar is the type of film that is so good the first time that you’d never want to try it again in case it ruins the perfect experience.

|| Friday ||

Percy Jackson & The Olympians: The Lightning Thief (2010)

Directed by: Chris Columbus

Starring: Logan Lerman, Brandon T. Jackson, Alexandra Daddario, Jake Abel, Pierce Brosnan, Catherine Keener, Uma Thurman, Sean Bean

Before I start ripping the movie apart, read this book review first so, if you’ve never read the books, you can at least have an inkling of how wonderful the series is.

I’m an optimist so I’m going to start with the good things. Sean Bean is a great Zeus. He has the looks, the voice, the height, and the hair. And Kevin McKidd was surprisingly fitting as Poseidon — someone less flashy but just as commanding as his brother. The choice of Uma Thurman for Medusa, though unexpected because M was supposed to have a “face so terrible to behold that the mere sight of it would turn any man to stone”. But Uma dripped evil from her stylish turban to the tips of her perfect toes and gave justice to the role. Steve Coogan was a shocking Hades and who could better play the heroes trainer Chiron than 007 himself, Pierce Brosnan. Clearly, some performances were good and the special effects screamed WE’VE GOT BUDGET.

Everything else was a travesty of Riordan’s book. The story was so radically different they should’ve changed the title and got on with it. They even took out one of the most amazing characters in the book: the arch-villain Titan, Kronos. Poor Luke’s skinny teenage shoulders were too narrow to carry the responsibility of being a movie baddie. As terrible as they were, I couldn’t blame the young actors for completely destroying the film because they were just paid to say what they said, and do what they did. I blame the script writers. You guys have no talent and have grossly disrespected Riordan’s story by changing it so much that it’s nearly unrecognizable. And most of all, I blame Chris Columbus. Damn you, CC! You have no vision or imagination. I burst the ghosts of my teenage pimples at you. I refuse to watch any of your movies, or at least the adaptations.

Only watch it if you’ve never read the books. Otherwise, skip it. I wish I did.

Made of Honor (2008)

Directed by: Paul Weiland
Starring: Patrick Dempsey, Michelle Monaghan, Kevin McKidd, Kathleen Quinlan, Sydney Pollack

I won’t pretend that this is one of those great, timeless movies. It’s a movie that was created to showcase Patrick Dempsey’s gorgeous smile and make gazillions of women weep because we didn’t get him for Christmas and that unrecognizable girl from the film is so stupid for not choosing him early on.

But I needed to amuse myself after watching the previously-reviewed horror of a film so Made of Honor was a good choice for a feel-good movie that doesn’t require me to exercise my brain muscles. It is entertaining, funny, and sweet. You’d never believe it’s real and you’d never believe anything the characters say, but at least it’s not a waste of time.

The Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind (2004)

Directed by: Michel Gondry
Starring: Jim Carrey, Kate Winslet, Kirsten Dunst, Mark Ruffalo, Elijah Wood

I expected to love this movie. But perhaps it was because of the expectation that disappointed me. Eternal Sunshine is about believing in true love in spite of erased past memories of each other, and talented as they are, both Carrey and Winslet failed to show any on-screen chemistry. It was painful trying to convince yourself while watching the movie convince you that these two people were made for each other. So, as brilliant as the script is, I stopped watching it midway.

Maybe I’ll continue someday.

Underworld (2003)


Directed by: Len Wiseman
Starring: Kate Beckinsale, Scott Speedman, Michael Sheen, Shane Brolly and Bill Nighy

I’ve seen the second movie and the third, which I loved because of Michael Sheen’s stellar performance. So I was curious if the original was any good. Kate Beckinsale is thin and sexy and is a vampire, which is the perfect excuse to wear black leather trench coats that match her cheekbones. The story is halfway decent, with enough plot twists to keep the viewer entertained when Kate’s cheekbones aren’t around. The women will love the fashion, the hair, the sexy lycans and vampire chic. There’s also enough guns, killing and mauling between vampires and lycans (werewolves) to keep a guy entertained. In short, it’s the perfect date movie.

Underworld 3 is still my favorite because one gets to see more of Bill Nighy and Sheen in that film and those two possess 90% of the whole cast’s talent. And when the movie ended, I was more aghast by the fact that Beckinsale dropped beautiful, talented Sheen who she has been in a relationship with for 7 years and has a child with just to marry the movie’s director, Len Wiseman. Tsk, Hollywood relationships.

|| Sunday ||

Australia (2008)


Directed by: Baz Luhrmann
Starring: Nicole Kidman, Hugh Jackman, David Wenham

I delayed watching this for so long because I heard a few negative reviews about the movie. Apparently, I’ve been listening to the wrong people. I should never have doubted Baz Luhrmann. The first half of the story is classic Baz. The scene showing a horrified Kidman while Jackman smashed another man’s head with her underwear luggage is pure classic. Unlike The Eternal Sunshine, Kidman and Jackman have incredible on-screen chemistry. They don’t need to do much, a touch on the shoulder has the effect of a torrid kiss. But this movie isn’t really a romance, that part is just a side story. It’s about living in Australia during the early 40’s at a time when WWII was just beginning and racism was still the norm. The ugliness contrasts with the beauty of Australia’s landscapes as each scene shows one panoramic shot after another. The real star of the movie is the little half-caste boy, Nullah, who teaches Kidman’s character that nothing is impossible and that his love for his foster mother (and hers for him) was enough for them to find each other again in the midst of a Japanese bombing.

Unlike Avatar, I do think that I WILL watch Australia again. It’s burnable. And I finally got what “Billabong” means.

One thought on “Six Movies

  1. Pingback: I blame Clash of the Titans. « Karma & Apollo

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

