The Battle of the Lip Gloss

It’s been a while since I made a girly post. But yesterday, Tita E gave me two gloss tubes. I tested both and compared them to my usual, everyday balms and here’s the result:

Visions Bootylicious Lip Gloss (in Bootie Call)

This one is from Tita E. Pros: I love the color, it makes me look more mature. And because the tint is darker than the usual gloss, I don’t need to wear lipstick underneath to keep me from looking pale and tired. It’s not too sticky on the lips and doesn’t look oily either. Cons: There is no scent. I like glosses that smell good. Also, when I apply it with my fingers, it’s hard to clean off afterwards. A tissue is not enough, you have to wash it off with soap and water or else you’ll have a red, sticky blotch on your hand and everything you touch with it.
Stars: 3/5

Victoria’s Secret Beauty Rush Lip Gloss (in Passion Fruit)

Another one from Tita E. Pros: I’ve used VS glosses before and I’ve always liked them. This one smells very very good, and tastes so yummy that I find myself licking the gloss off my lips and having to reapply again and again. The texture is good, not too sticky. Plus, it was lots of tiny glitters that reflect light. Cons: It’s very pale so it can’t really stand alone unless you have naturally pink lips. I don’t, so I have to apply it over a layer of lip stain. It also tastes way too good and if I don’t stop licking it off, I’ll finish the entire tube in a week!
Stars: 4.5/5

The Body Shop Born Lippy Lip Balm (in Strawberry)

An old favorite, I’ve always kept one or two with me for six years. Pros: It has just the right tint. You can wear it alone for a faintly-pink, natural look. Or you can wear it as a gloss over lipstick or stain to enhance the color. As a moisturizer, it works really well and keeps your lips plump-looking for hours. It comes in a little tub instead of a tube, which can be handy as it’s easy to apply. No frantic tube-squeezing for the last drop. It smells good, too. Cons: Honestly, I can’t think of anything wrong with it.
Stars: 5/5

The Body Shop Hot Brights Lip Shine/Cheek Stain (in Bronze)

This product comes with both a lip & cheek stain and a lip gloss. The stain is ok, but the color isn’t really noticeable on my tanned Asian skin. As for the gloss… Pros: It’s really glossy. And minutes after application it doesn’t feel sticky anymore. It has glitters too which look great outdoors or indoors. Cons: It was designed to be a companion to the stain so it doesn’t look so good alone. And after a couple of hours, it makes the lips crust and harden at the sides. I don’t use this a lot.
Stars: 2.5/5

Nivea Star Fruits (in Cherry)

Pros: It’s cheap, it’s an effective moisturizer, it’s shiny, it looks and feels good, the color is good depending on your skintone, and it smells like cherries. I really can’t ask for more when it comes to an everyday lip balm. Cons: It’s a very effective everyday balm. Don’t use this for special occasions or your lips will feel underdressed.
Stars: 5/5

And last but not the least… the most efficient, most unassuming product that’s even more wonderful than Vaseline…

Vitamin A & D Ointment

Yep, I use this as a lip balm. We also use it for baby’s diaper rash, minor burns, scratches, dry skin, eye cream, allergy soother, and we also use it to patch the ozone layer on weekends. But, like Nivea star fruits, this is an everyday product. I don’t think vitamin A&D likes to glam up. 😀
Stars: 4/5

6 thoughts on “The Battle of the Lip Gloss

  1. I have the Victoria’s Secret Beauty Rush, given to me by my good friend Pinky. I love it. But I lick most of it off almost as soon as I put it on. It’s so deelish. Even if I know it’s not meant to be eaten. Ack.

    Hahaha. I like Nivea’s lip gloss in natural best. Smells good, not too oily, and looks real good on Asian skin. 😉

    And it’s cheap at around P200 a pop. Now that’s a steal. 😀

    • You know what I’m curious about? Lancome lip gloss. It’s supposed to be one of the best but I never remember to buy one. If I happen to be in a store with gazillions of make-up, I gravitate to Clinique, buy some skincare whatever, pick up a mascara for Mom, and leave.

      And I forgot to mention… The Body Shop Almond Lip Balm, the one that comes in a tub, is to die for. It’s not colored so even guys can use it, smells like heaven, and is very moisturizing. Aromatherapy and lipcare in one. ^_^

  2. i’ve try nivea and the body shop raspberry born lippy. i like the born lippy and i’ve review about it. but victoria’s secret look interesting.. 🙂

  3. Pingback: 2010 in review « Karma & Apollo

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

