Braveheart or William Butler Yeats?

A few months ago, I bought around fifteen fishes for my marble-base aquarium. They all died within a few days, except for one:  a suckermouth catfish.  He looked so down and alone in the big tank all by himself so Dad moved him to my mother’s old rice cooker and placed him beside the stove, near the kitchen door so he could catch some sunlight. I didn’t tell Dad that janitor fishes are nocturnal and he’ll just spend the whole time hiding behind the huge shell in the cooker.

So far, he’s been there for seven months and has pretty much established himself as the third member of the household. I haven’t named him yet so I decided to give him a name instead of just calling him “fish”. Here are the options:

  1. Braveheart (Mel Gibson. ‘Nuff said.)
  2. William Butler Yeats (He wishes for the cloths of heaven)
  3. Benigno Aquino, Jr. (I’m a big fan of Ninoy.)
  4. Justin Timberlake (Where is he these days? Is he hiding?)
  5. Vincent Van Gogh (Maybe not. My fish isn’t angsty.)

I finally settled on Pablo Neruda. He’s not on the list. But the moment I yelled “Pablo!” I swear I saw that tail twitch.

from Pooch Cafe
click pic for larger image

~*~*~

Chris doesn’t have any idea what to send me for Christmas. He finally asked me and I told him what I wanted.

C: A shirt??
Me: Your shirt. Something you’ve worn several times before, not something new.
C: Do you want anything else aside from TimTams and a shirt?
Me: Why don’t you ask your sister for advice? (lol)

We talked about other things and then I showed him the gift-wrapped book I was going to bring to the Christmas lottery with my girlfriends (It’s Paulo Coelho’s The Alchemist and Hannah got it). And that’s when it finally hit him.

C: You’re a reader! Why don’t I give you books?!
Me: ^___^
C: Send me a list of books you want and I’ll pick three.
Me: *emails him a long list of Jordan, Gaiman, Pratchett and Fforde books I couldn’t find in KSA*
Me: If it’s Jordan, you have to get only Jordan since WoT is a series. But if you decide on the others, you can mix it up.

A day later…

C: I bought you all 5 of the books you listed from that author.
Me: Jordan?
C: Yes.
Me: EEEEeeeeeeeeEEEE!

I can’t wait for my present. ^___^ Now I need tips for Chris’ Christmas present. Haha.

And I finally got to see and speak to Robert. Luv ya Rob! And thanks to Wen for urging me to read Jordan in the first place.

2 thoughts on “Braveheart or William Butler Yeats?

  1. hahahaha yeah I finally got a few good friends christmas presents, it was so much fun picking them out and mailing them. I got one old leveling buddy that i think the world of a navy hoodie and sweats, she loves them! I like the WoT series alot, i am currently re-reading it again. Sad Jordan died before he could finish the last book on his own. On a mobwars note, i think its funny how when i post jobs and u and chris both help with the job. ttyl

    • So far, yesterday, I only got gifts for my family and Chris (thank God for discounted DHL). I haven’t shopped yet for my friends! Running out of time. 😦 I was more of a sci-fi reader (Asimov <3)than a fantasy genre reader but Wen convinced me to try out R.Jordan and I loved the first book which I read before I flew back here to KSA. I couldn't find any of his books here in Riyadh so Chris is getting me the next 5. I can't wait. 🙂

      Yes, well, jobs/heists are the only thing we do these days on MW1. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

