I’ve succumbed to the Flip Flop

After years of stubbornly wearing my leather thongs and shoes, I finally bought a pair of Ipanema sandals. I figured that since I’m going home for a while in less than a month, I may as well buy rubber sandals for everyday foot wear in the Philippines. And in a country where it can be sunny and drizzly within one day, it’s best to be prepared.

I was choosing between Havaianas and Ipanemas but the latter brand had more swirly and girly designs (as Trish described) which I figured would be a good transition piece for me so I wouldn’t shock myself into trying to pull off casual flip flops and fail. Havaianas were also more expensive which is odd as I always thought they pretty much had the same price back home. But I guess I’m lucky to live in a country where these type of footwear is not just unpopular–nobody wears it here! So while the locals are busy checking out more fancy footwear, the expats like me are happily snapping up these usually-ridiculously-priced sandals at a much lower price compared to the rest of the world. I think they’re priced at around Php 1000-1500 ($20-30) back home and and I only got mine at SR 53 ($14) each. Not bad.

I got the Dragonfly flip flops for me and Mom. Black for me and white/gold for mom:
dragonfly_black_wedge_flip_flopdragonfly_white_gold_wedge_flip_flop

And my sister Sofia chose the lovely purple and pink ones:
flower_power_purple_flip_flop

I love mine so much I’m wearing them at work! I might come am coming back for more later. 🙂

~*~*~

I’m going to be home in less than a month!!! I realized that yesterday and panic set in. I have to take my diet seriously and be a skinny biatch by the time the plane lands. Summer means beaches and tiny clothing. And though I know I’m coming home for a work thing–need to process my work visa and recruitment–I’m determined to have fun at the same time. 😀

I’m going to have to make another TO DO list. Places to go, things to see, people to call/meet, food to eat, etc. Yes, food is very important. I can already see and taste the menu of The Chocolate Kiss. Mmmmmm…

4 thoughts on “I’ve succumbed to the Flip Flop

  1. The simplest havaianas designs here cost around P700+ Steffi! Still too expensive for flipflops. But oh well, I am the flipflops junkie lately. My feet don’t like it when it’s enclosed. Sigh. hahaha

  2. Pingback: Ipanemas vs. Haivaianas « The Philosophy of Chocolate

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

