Everything Wicked

I caught a cold virus, which means that I’ll have a monster appetite until it disappears. 🙂 Good luck with my so-called pre-vacation diet.

My weekend was pretty good, considering that I worked like a horse on Thursday thanks to the workshop–this means being a laborer/slave/waitress/go-fer for a day. At least I only felt the pressure for a few days. Liza didn’t rest or sleep properly for nearly two weeks and we had to stick band-aids on her feet just so she could walk. 😦

And then we had the CLP last Friday, which always cheers me up. I had to eat my own cooking (carbonara) which probably explained why I got sick the next day. Haha. Anyway, the whole I-love-this-weekend atmosphere was nearly ruined by one of those Get-A-Clue episodes. I hate having to say no more than once because in the end, a girl ends up sounding rude. It’s not that I’m particularly mean or choosy… (1) this is just not the time/day/month/season, (2) I’m not in the mood, (3) I might be telling the truth and I might really be busy. Feel free to pick your favorite excuse. 😀

WickedAfter another trip to Jarir, I picked Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West by Gregory Maguire over The Fourth Bear by Jasper Fforde. In spite of my current infatuation with anything related to Fforde, I picked the first book because Tricia has been recommending it for ages and it’s thicker, which means a longer reading period for a page-eater like me.

The Wicked Witch of the West is the famous antagonist in L. Frank Baum’s The Wonderful Wizard of Oz. In his book, Maguire painted a brilliant history and personality behind the mysterious character and showed that even the “bad” folks in fairy tales are not two dimensional. Even the “bad” label is unjust, as there are several sides to every story. Wicked is Elphaba’s biography–the adult version of a fairy tale that every book lover has to read and own.

From Wiki:
The novel is a political, social, and ethical commentary on what good and evil really are. It takes place in The Land of Oz, before Dorothy’s arrival. The story centers on Elphaba, the misunderstood green-skinned girl who grows up to become the infamous Wicked Witch of the West. Gregory Maguire fashioned the name of Elphaba (pronounced EL-fa-ba) from the initials of Lyman Frank Baum, L-F-B.

This book inspired the Broadway musical that shares the same title.

After two days and 300+ pages, all I can say that this book is incredibly COOL. Read it! Read it! Read it!

But never ever let anyone below the age of fifteen read this because it’s loaded with you-know-what. }:) Naughty Genuis Maguire.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

