Me and Mr. Darcy

Every time I yawn or stretch my mouth a little too wide while eating or talking, the skin above my upper lip cracks and bleeds a little. It’s not painful, but the scab makes me look like a Neo-Hitler. *sigh* Yes, it’s winter and its DRY, and I always forget to rub Vaseline on which makes the mini-mustache-look entirely my fault.

So what’s a girl to do?

Read Me and Mr. Darcy by Alexandra Potter.

I skipped buying this book on several occasions, thinking that it was just one of the mediocre chick-lit novels that populated the shelves. But because I was trying to keep myself from splurging on a brand new iPod, I went crazy and bought a number of books in Jarir this afternoon. And *surprise!*surprise!*, Potter’s book is actually a good read.

No, it was more than good. Me and Mr. Darcy is funny, witty, warm, and very real. The lead character, Emily, is bookstore manager who ventures on a Jane Austen literary tour. And during her week in England–which she had expected to be quite dull and uneventful–she meets a busload of fun senior citizens, a mysterious tour guide, a cute but annoying reporter named Spike, and Mr. Fitzwilliam Darcy himself.

Any girl could identify with Emily and all her awkward insecurities. Potter didn’t spare any embarrassment and it’s a relief to read a book where the heroine isn’t some plastic Barbie doll but is someone who could have stepped out of the book, complete with all her flaws and human quirks.

And I completely and utterly ENVY her for scoring a date… no, several dates with that eternal dreamboat, Mr. Darcy.

Who has a copy of the BBC adaptation of Pride and Prejudice starring Colin Firth? Everyone has copies of the movie with Keira Knightly and Matthew Macfadyen, and while I adore that version, I fear that it’s my civic duty as a warm-blooded female to see Colin Firth emerge from the lake in his white shirt and breeches.

Colin Firth as Mr. Darcy
Colin Firth as Mr. Darcy
4 thoughts on “Me and Mr. Darcy

  1. OMG, I have a copy of the one with Colin Firth. It’s such a lenggthyyyyy film and there were *yawn* moments, but that emerging-from-the-lake-in-wet-breeches scene made it so much worth it!

  2. TBG,
    I don’t mind lengthy. Hehehe. I love Pride and Prejudice and Colin Firth so much that I might even skip gym time just to watch it. =D

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

