Why Neil Gaiman is ♥

Anyone who knows me well knows how much I love and adore Neil Gaiman. I think I’ve said this before but I won’t get tired of saying it again and again.

Could it be because he writes so well in a seemingly effortless style? Or because he takes inspiration in the oddest and most ordinary things and turns them into wonderful stories that will put 80% of published works to shame? Or that every book and story is unique and beautiful in their own way? Or is it because his imagination is WAY out there and I just want to worship and thank him and kiss the top of his tousled head for bringing his perfect prose to the masses?

*coughs* The geek shines through. 🙂

I have three books (Stardust, Neverwhere, and American Gods), a CD of The Sandman Book of Dreams in PDFs, and an ebook of Anansi Boys that I’m still reading right now. I’ve always known that he must have a website up somewhere but for some reason, I never searched for it until today… and look what I discovered: FREE STORIES!

I’ve read three and a half as of this minute as I’m still in the middle of I Cthulhu and my computer’s still downloading A Study in Emerald. Reading them was pure pleasure. I especially loved the Hugo Award nominated How To Talk To Girls At Parties because of its unique plot and Cinnamon is short, lovely, and simple enough to be read to kids. And I’m sure that after reading The Case of Four and Twenty Blackbirds, you will never think of nursery rhymes as safe, moral, and non-violent ever again.

And look, he has a blog! This is too good to be true. Neil, meet Steffi, your new cyberstalker blog-reader. Hmm… *browses* Neil seems to be a cool dad, and daughter Maddy is cute and writes adorably. Lucky girl.

Excuse me while I return to my reading. I have one and a half short stories and half a book to finish. This writer deserves every drop of attention anyone can give.

(I haven’t even packed yet! Haha.)

One thought on “Why Neil Gaiman is ♥

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

