Materyosa

It never fails to surprise me when I receive comments from people who are supposed to know me well about my being object-oriented.

“Ah yes, Steffi shops a lot.”
“She spends her whole paycheck every month.”
“She likes designer clothes.”
“Magastos yan, grabe!”

Since when did I do all these? One person even told me that I looked expensive–that I seemed like I spend a lot for my lifestyle.

My reaction:

What lifestyle??? Seriously!

  1. I only spend 100SR on cellphone load each month. I don’t like wasting money when there’s a perfectly usable landline phone.
  2. As for having all the new high-tech toys, I don’t own an iPOD or any fancy electronic accessories. I have a cellphone that’s nearly 3 years old and my perfectly serviceable Dell notebook is a necessity for my work and personal use.
  3. Yes, I like pretty clothes and shoes. And quality does come with a price. But have you heard of season and Eid sales? I do my major shopping when it’s worth it. And I never buy anything for its original price. 70% off is the minimum acceptable tag. 🙂
    You don’t have to settle for inferior goods if you want to pay less. Just shop smart.
  4. I don’t like buying jewelry. I have a collection of 10SR earrings. My one and only gold and diamond set was a graduation gift and the most expensive piece I ever paid for myself were the 100SR silver and crystal earrings that my mom forced me to buy.
  5. I hate buying sensless objects and little luxury items that I don’t need and will probably never use, and anything that I’ll forget I have in a month.
  6. I hardly eat out. It helps that I don’t have the time to do so. 😀
  7. Make-up is expensive. So I figured that hardly wearing any is the best way to go.

I’m an official cheapskate in disguise. Hehe. I suppose I just don’t like being extravagant when I don’t have to. But I can be generous, after all, there are times when we have to dish out more than usual.

Besides, you don’t have to spend oodles of money to look and feel good about yourself. And I take it as a compliment that I look effortlessly chica. 🙂

I guess I just can’t forget what one of my Management professors taught me: people who spend a lot, even if they earn a lot, will get stuck in middle-class forever. No thanks.

2 thoughts on “Materyosa

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

