Liber Libri ( 1 )

It’s Wednesday again and the bookworm part of me is crawling out of hiding.

  • Just finished:

    The Golem’s Eye by Jonathan Stroud is the second installment in his Bartimaeus Trilogy. I loved the first book (The Amulet of Samarkand) but was a little disheartened with the reviews for the second. Thankfully, I never listen to reviews because these are the same people who rave about Judith McNaught (haha!). I can’t wait to read the third.

    The City of Falling Angels by John Berendt (non-fiction). This is Venice. I don’t even need pictures of the place to develop a desire to see it; Berendt is an expert in visualization. His characters are real people and he managed to make them more interesting than cardboard-fictional ones. Not only do I want to know more about Ezra Pound and Olga Rudge, now Trish and I are determined to move to Venice, become Marchesas through marriage, live in a palazzo, and visit each other everyday by riding our own gondolas. 😀

    Veronika Decides to Die by Paulo Coelho. This book is better than what I expected. For a short volume, it left a strong impression on me as a reader. In spite of Coelho’s narcissistic tendencies, which I view as a major fault of his, his Veronika is just as amazing as The Alchemist. It’s very simple, but shocking and true as well. I especially love the use of Canada to illustrate the connection between insanity and the lack of problems (no offense to Canadians, of course).

  • Currently going through:

    The Name of the Rose by Umberto Eco. Believe it or not, I’ve been struggling to finish this book for a year. Very un-Steff-like, I know. But I somehow always find something else to read in between and I end up having to start all over again. But it sounds fascinating, and I’m determined to get this done before I read Foucault’s Pendulum (also by Eco).

    The Golden Compass by Philip Pullman. I was attracted to the His Dark Materials trilogy because everyone important (itnsho*) in the fantasy-lit and sci-fi world seems to be endlessly raving about the books. I found the complete set in Jarir, decided to skip buying two Narnia books for now, and got all three. I’m still in the middle of this one. It’s good so far, even if the pacing is slower than what I would’ve liked. I have two more volumes to go before I make my judgement.

  • Will read:

    The Subtle Knife and The Amber Spyglass, both by Philip Pullman. Books 2 and 3 of His Dark Materials (see photo above). I seem to be stuck on a certain genre for this season. Hehe.

  • Next on the “To buy” list:

    The Illuminator by Brenda Rickman Vantrease. I’ve been thinking about reading this book for months, and now that I finally have the time to read (typical of a single girl), I decided to get a copy the next time I pass by Jarir. I love historical fiction.

    Ptolemy’s Gate by Jonathan Stroud. I *have* to get the paperback of the last part of Stroud’s series. I can’t wait to find out what’ll happen to Bartimeaus and what Nathaniel could do now that he’s older. I already miss the djinn’s wisecracks.

    The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis (books 4-7). I already have the first three and I swore that I’d finish the whole thing before March. It’s good, better than I thought. I love the fact that each novel is unique, and are not mere continuations of the previous volumes.

  • = =

    [* itnsho = in their not so humble opinion]

    5 thoughts on “Liber Libri ( 1 )

    1. Try reading The Birth of Venus by Sarah Dunant and The Passion of Artemisia by Tracy Chevalier. Historical fiction about women set in Italy. I think both in Florence. They’re aspiring women-artists during a time when Italy was at the height of patriarchy. Ganda!!

    2. And you’re not the only one struggling with Eco’s Name of the Rose. I’m still in the 4th chapter and it has been about a year since I started. 😀

    3. And read A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket!!! Promise steffi, they’re good reads 😀 I have all 13 books! Collected them religiously too! haha

    4. Trish: I was going to include The Birth of Venus on my “To Buy” list pero inantok na ako. Haha… Seriously, yes, I do plan to read those two books soon. I’ve started The Passion of Artemisia when I was in your house, remember? Too bad I didn’t have time to finish it.

      When I go to Pinas, I’ll borrow your Lemony Snicket collection before I go to Pangasinan. I’m sure I’ll have time to read there. Haha! We never have spare time in Metro Manila. 😀

      aart: Hey, thanks for the links. 🙂

    Leave a Reply

        Blog at WordPress.com.

