ugly duckling reads mark twain

A few nights ago, I was discussing the Ugly Duckling Syndrome with a friend. We were comparing notes and arguing about who was the ugliest during our teenage years.

He said he used to be thin, short, and was always the designated driver who looked after his friends because he could never get a date. My friend, in my unbiased opinion, is very attractive; and a lot of girls agree with me judging from the “Steff, pakilala mo naman ako sa kanya” requests. But until now, he finds it difficult to believe that he is, and still looks behind him to see if someone’s there whenever a pretty girl waves at him. πŸ˜›

I was worse. Ultimately worse. I even have numerous photographs to prove it. There’s my college ID card (baluga), my driver’s license (escaped convict), my Iqama ID (Miriam Defensor-Santiago/Helen Vela lookalike), and my favorite: my brother’s family day photo nine years ago with me and mom (homo habilis steffi). That last photo continues to invoke laughter to this day. =P

I like to think that I developed a decent personality because I was ugly for so long (debatable, but my mind is set *lol*). As for the other aspect, I’m not saying that I look really good now, or that I feel uber-pretty. That’s so… arrogant. πŸ™‚ Let’s just say that I managed to achieve homo sapiens sapiens status and I’m satisfied with that.

= =

So, how is dear Steffi spending her work hours today? After being incredibly busy all morning and early afternoon, she has decided to read A Great American Novel on her desk.

Mark Twain’s A Double-Barrelled Detective Story.

I like Bibliomania. πŸ™‚ And Mark Twain is such a genius. I’m in the middle of Chapter 4, so please excuse me while I continue my version of worthwhile petiks.

4 thoughts on “ugly duckling reads mark twain

  1. nah.. homo sapiens steffi still… you just got.. boobs.. which people don’t mind looking at when they try to listen to you.. talk..

    HA! :p

  2. hay nako vinz, pangarap mo talaga magkaroon ng man-boobs. *haha* πŸ˜›

    and i have more than boobs. i have brains… i mean, have you ever seen a woman ogle a guy down there while he’s talking?

  3. hmmm.. i don’t quite get a woman ogle a guy down there while he’s talking…

    and no. i don’t dream about having one.. just keep saying that to yourself steffi, it’ll make you feel better.. eventually… >:)

  4. *sigh* vinzi, i don’t need anything to make me feel better. πŸ™‚ that’s what i’ve been trying to say. πŸ™‚

    are you still in your hermit-phase? you’ve been here for 2 or 3 weeks (?) and you haven’t showed yourself to us yet. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

