Beware of the Jabberwocky

The mentos-pepsi video is so popular these days among email forwarders. Apparently, if you put a few mentos candies in a pepsi bottle/can, the soda shakes, bubbles up and bursts upward like a minty-sweet version of Ol’ Faithful, therefore proving that mentos and pepsi is a lethal combination.

Being a mentos addict, I think I just discovered the reason for my epilepsy. Nyahaha.

I just had a premonition that something is pressuring me to quit my work. Being me, I’ve done nothing but complain about work. But the thought of leaving my job against my will suddenly made me passionately in love with it.

Jeremy and I spent the afternoon looking for flaws in our office. We criticized the computers (because we wanted the latest and not last year’s models), the digital phones, the uber-cold A/C, etc. Not even the SR2000+ ergonomic chairs could keep us contented. Brats, we are. Speaking of those chairs, D tried to bribe me to switch chairs with him. I swung around in my seat, back-inclined, with my spine perfectly aligned, and smirked: No.

The discussion turned to computer keyboards, and just to prove that there was something seriously wrong with a non-split keyboard, Jeremy typed this on my PC:

Twas brillig and ths slivey toves
Did gyre and gimble in the wabe
All mimsy were the borogoves
And the mome raths outgrabe

Beware the Jabberwock, my son!
The jaws that bite; the claws that catch
Beware the Jujub bird and shun
The frumious Bandersnatch

He took his vorpal sword in hand
Long time the manxome foe he sought
So rested he by the Tumtum tree
And stood a while in thought

And as in uffish thought he stood
The Jabberwock with eyes of flame
Came whiffling through the tulgey wood
And burbled as it came

One, two! One, two! And through, and through.
The vorpal sword went snicker-snack
He struck it dead and with its head
He went galumphing back

And hast though slain the Jabberwock?
Come to my arms, my beamish boy.
Oh frabjous day, Calooh callay!
He burbled in his joy.

Twas brillig and the slivey toves
Did gyre and gimble in the wabe
All mimsy were the borogoves

And the mome raths outgrabe.

Me: Um.. what is this?
Jeremy: It’s The Jabberwocky by Lewis Carroll. I memorized it when I was a child, I just wanted to see if I could still remember it.
Me: It’s in a different language. *lol*

I couldn’t stop reading it. I have become a Wonderland convert! (Damn you, Jeremy. :D) Too bad I lost my copy of Through the Looking Glass in Cavite. Oh well, I could always buy another.

To summarize the whole point, let me quote David Shaw: “Jabberwocky beautifully skates the thin edge of being understood and being nonsense. But such glorious nonsense!”

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

