After Typhoon Haiyan.

On a side note, I hate it when people say, “Oh, you must have had a hard life,” (emphasis on the HARD) and look at me with pity after I mention that I am from the Philippines. Puh-lease. I had a great life while I was there, I love it more than any country in the world, and if it were not for certain circumstances in my life, I would rather be home right at this very moment. Not everyone is destitute and we are not an unhappy people. We certainly gripe and complain a lot less than people I’ve met in more developed countries because we know how to work hard but live life to the fullest at the same time.

I miss packing up yummy homemade food for a day-long trip to the beach for free (or a small sum), having great meals at a fraction of the cost of a fast food takeout here, my mother’s sinigang na boneless bangus, going to some of the biggest and greatest malls in the world that are one-stop shops for everything you need, hearing people speak the same expressive language you speak, getting super fresh seafood, eating baskets of the most luscious mangoes on earth, sorbetes ice cream, taho, jeepneys and trikes (I know, right!), living a few hours from places that remind you of paradise, and many many more. I took a lot of things for granted before I realized that I could not experience them here unless you spend an ungodly amount of money for a trip or a cruise.

There is a reason why people who have worked abroad for most of the year clap when the plane lands in NAIA. Someday, I will take my husband and retire there. We still have a lot of things to do here in his home country but we will eventually go (to my) home.

The DOT was right, It is more fun in the Philippines.

One thought on “Thank You!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
The Esquire Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

