A Hat Full of Sky

Last Wednesday, out of curiosity, I weighed myself in the gym. It couldn’t be attributed to a loss of water weight because I just drank a full bottle of water after running, sit-ups, crunches and pilates. I was gratified to see that I lost 1 kg already. Now, 1 kg may not seem much, but it’s 2.2 pounds in just four days of this. And I’m not even strictly dieting! YAY!

I refuse to be a slave to the scale since I absolutely believe that one can tell through one’s clothes. And there’s a mirror. I might weigh in again after 2-3 weeks. For now, I’m just enjoying this because I feel so much better.

Now I just need to keep it up.

~*~

The connection was wonky the whole day yesterday. We did try to reset the router 1,000x. Sometimes, it gave us false hope. It would show a speedy connection (blue-green light) but would turn into a slow one (blue) that would quickly degenerate to a snail’s pace (green). My nightly Skype conversations with Chris lasted for a total of 5 seconds. Oh well, there’s always tomorrow.

Everyone got pissed but so many things were done. Dad cleaned the A/C, Mom organized a million things, Jiko… I don’t know what Jiko did, Sofia practiced her numbers and slept early, and I managed to (1) cook pumpkin soup, (2) load my Kindle with more than a hundred ebooks, (3) start and finish A Hat Full of Sky, and (4) start Wintersmith. And we watched two movies.

See what having no Facebook, Farmville, Amebo Pico, Galaxy Online II, and Star Pirates can do to a family. By the time the internet got back up, I was too sleepy and played halfheartedly for a few minutes before going to bed.

Speaking of Discworld books, I’m on a quest to finish all of them and all the Dresden files right after. I chose A Hat Full of Sky and Wintersmith because I’ve been very fond of the lead character, Tiffany Aching, and all the witches ever since I read I Shall Wear Midnight months ago. If you’re a regular Discworld customer, you know that Pratchett’s well-cultivated world is composed of hundreds of interesting characters. The focus of each novel shifts from one to the other, giving almost everyone a chance for the spotlight. The books are always interesting, the stories worth reading, and the way fiction depicts real life is just too funny. I ♥ Pratchett! (I secretly like him more than Neil Gaiman, who I think is a genius of his own right but tends to take things too seriously.)

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
The Esquire Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 28 other followers

